You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-25 07:49:31

AFS

Loafers: The Compromise

Bespoke (as suggested elsewhere)?  Not for me.  Nor, even, J.M.Weston.
Modern Bass Weejuns are all too often despised.
Alden?  Yes - if you have deep pockets.  They have no great appeal for me.
I have no experience of Eastland or Rancourt.
Dexter?  Yet are they any less 'plasticy' than modern Bass? 
Sebago - a little 'ho-hum' perhaps.
Didn't Patrick say years ago that the UK Ivy fraternity often take loafers too seriously?

#2 2022-01-25 07:50:45

AFS

Re: Loafers: The Compromise

I wonder if TRS BTW still favours Alden.

#3 2022-01-25 07:59:25

AFS

I still favour Dexter.

#4 2022-01-25 08:12:40

SenorBlues

John Rushton highly rates Lorens from Spain. I had a pair from him about ten years ago and they're still going strong. Lovely shoes.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CFIWNc1nFmq/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

“I have never listened to anyone who criticised my taste in space travel, sideshows or gorillas. When this occurs, I pack up my dinosaurs and leave the room.”
Ray Bradbury

#5 2022-01-25 12:28:45

Yuca

Most loafers back in the day were cheap but cheerful. They looked great due to the classic style, but up close the use of low grade leather was obvious to anyone into good shoes. Also they don't do the feet and back any favours. To a certain extent the aforementioned classic style compensates for their disposable nature, particularly if they are worn intermittently, however it explains why vintage shots and film suggest that they were far more of a young person's thing.